Monday, November 22, 2010

Monday, November 1, 2010

IMM: October 31st

Imm is a weekly blog that was created by the amazing Kristi at The Story Siren

This week I didn't buy that many books as I have been sick, and have spent a great deal of time sleeping! But the books I did get I am very excited for!

This week I had a Nicholas Spark's craving and bought two of his books
(the second one is being borrowed by my roommate and therefore 
is not in this picture)


 Looks like some good reads eh? What did you guys get this week?
   Happy readings!!

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Waiting on wednesday: Entice

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine, and spotlights upcoming novels we just can't wait for!


This week I am anquiously awaiting the release of Entice by Carrie Jones;




Entice
Carrie Jones
December 7th 2010
Entice (Need, #3)

Zara and Nick are soul mates, meant to be together forever. But that's not quite how things have worked out.

For starters, well, Nick is dead. Supposedly, he's been taken to a mythic place for warriors known as Valhalla, so Zara and her friends might be able to get him back. But it's taking time, and meanwhile a group of evil pixies is devastating Bedford, with more teens going missing every day. An all-out war seems imminent, and the good guys need all the warriors they can find. But how to get to Valhalla?

And even if Zara and her friends discover the way, there's that other small problem: Zara's been pixie kissed. When she finds Nick, will he even want to go with her? Especially since she hasn't just turned. She's Astley's queen

-----------

If your like me and have read the two former books in the Need series, I'm sure you too are always waiting to find out about Nick and see how Zara can get out of this situation she has put herself in! I love how the paranormal world isn't just about Vampires and Werewolves now, pixies are an interesting twist and even better is their bad to the bone! Sounds like my kind of pixie! GIVE ME MORE CARRIE JONES!

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Teaser Tuesday: Awaken Me Darkly

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should be reading. 


Here's how it works:- Grab the current book you're reading- Open up to a random page- share 2 "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page ***Make sure your section is spoiler free!






"Your sarcasm sucks". I flicked him a glance, but he kept his profile to me. 
"Don't worry. I won't let her hurt you. If anyone gets your blood, it's mee". 
"I suddenly fell warm and giddy inside." His tone was as dry as the air. "Are you
trying to make me fall in love with you?". I snorted.  (177)

I've read quite a few of Gena's books and have always considered them a guilty pleasure. This is the first installment in the " Alien Hunters" series, I have read her other ones and absolutely loved them! Excited for this one!

Monday, October 25, 2010

IMM October 24th!!

Hey guys! My IMM is a little late but since I have some amazing books this time I still wanted to add them!


Imm is a weekly blog that was created by the amazing Kristi at The Story Siren


This week was a great one for book releases, I have been trying to save my money so I could go crazy this week!! The following books I bought from my local Chapters

Crescendo- Read
Wideacre- To be read
Awaken me Darkly- To be read

I LOVE the books I bought this week!! I can't wait till I start posting reviews, these were some amazing books!!
What did you buy this week? Happy readings!!

Thursday, September 23, 2010

Waiting on wednesday: This Side of the Grave



My W.O.W is late this week, I mean't to post it last night but it slipped my mind! So today is pseudo-wednesday for me! 


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.



This Side of the Grave
Jeaniene Frost
February 22nd 2011


------------

So why can't I wait you may ask?

 Any fan of urban fantasy has to be familiar with the Night Huntress series! They are easily up there among my all time favorite books and series! This book is the fifth book in the series, and it follows the story of Cat and Bones. Aside from maybe Peeta, Bones is probably my favorite male hero! He is so witty, and he has an odd past that not many writers are willing to write into the main heros past, as some may see it as a flaw (I won't give away what his past is because it was fun to discover ;)] . I really enjoy Jeaniene's writing style, I have even read her other companion books to the night huntresses series and liked them just as much as I did these books! I can not wait for this book and if you have not read the rest of the series I highly recommend them!!

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Contest Winner !!

Hey Ya'll incase you forgot who I am, since I am practically a stranger to blogger, but I promise "No More!" I am back... I hope! So I will now, finally, release who won my birthday/return/ and follower contest.

Drumroll pleaseeee.....



...And the winner of a any twenty dollar and less book from the book depository is

------




----


--






Congratulations Alessandra!!! I am sending you an email now! Please get back to me and I will buy you your book! Thanks for everyone that entered!! Happy readings!

Monday, August 30, 2010

ATTENTION Unraveled contest Aug 30th-Sep 2nd!!! NOT TO BE MISSED!!

Hey guys! Today I got a very exciting email that I hope you all will be as thrilled with it as I am! The email in question came from one of Gena Showalter's literacy agents who represent her, if you are not already fimilar with her she has wrote the widely popular adult series Lords of the Otherworld, which I myself am a HUGE fan of. She is also the writer of the YA book; Interwind, the first book in her Interwind series, and to celebrate her second book in the series's, Unraveled's, release date on September 1st Gena and follow YA writers such as;  Rachel Caine, PC Cast, Marley Gibson, Rosemary Clement-Moore and Tina Ferraro, are hosting a scavenger hunt event on their blogs. Three randomly selected entrants will each receive $100 Visa gift cards!!!! How cool is that!!!





  And if you haven't seen the cover for Unraveled you can see it below...


I can't wait to buy it on Wednesday!!! Make sure you guys go to Gena's and Rachel Caine's blog's and get the puzzles for today!!!!!! I know I am!!


Happy readings!!




Thursday, August 26, 2010

Review; MockingJay



Author; Suzanne Colins
 Release Date; August 24th 2010
 Review; 5/5



 

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins’s groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year

--------------------
For those of you that have been followers of this blog from the beginning are well aware that my passion for reading is deeply rooted in books like The Hunger Games. Everything I believe should be in a book; a strong protagonist, a complex plot, a twist, this series has! I am in love with Katniss’s characters, although I do find myself cursing at her stubbornness something, but people in glass houses shouldn’t throw rocks.
Mockingjay didn’t disappoint the Hunger Game’s addict in me, that addict was well sedated at the end of this trilogy. With every good book though, I was sad to see it end, I can still remember picking up the first book the week it came out and cursing the year intervals between installments. I will try to keep this as spoil free as possible, because although I know a lot of people, including myself, couldn’t wait to dig in, I know many of you are still in the dark. This book is full of grit and the love that the other two books delivered. But with any good series finale there is some parts that are hard to swallow. Some things seemed unnecessary, and I most definitely sat on the edge of hysteria a couple of times.
Mockingjay promises to wrap up the conflict with the Capital in a way that is most unexpected, and we also see what happens with district 13.
For you Peeta vs Gale routers, you will have your answer by the end of Mockingjay, and I will say that I was very happy with the result!
One thing I love about these books is that Katniss is such a loyal character; she lives for the people she loves, which is evident from the first book. In Mockingjay you will see this particular trait beat her up, and damage her core.  It is her weakness. But in my opinion this is what makes her so relatable.
I have fallen in love with Suzanne’s writing style from the first book. She writes with short dramatic sentences that pack a punch, and leave you stunned at her brilliance. The Hunger Games Trilogy is a set of books that, in my opinion, do not compare to any other books I have read; the characters, history and writing style are so uniquely Suzanne that they are easily my favorite books, and my go to recommendation to anyone asking for a good read.

I leave you all with my favorite quote from Mockingjay, and will warn you that it may be a possible SPOILER;




------
“ You love me. Real or not real?”
“Real”. 

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Waiting on wednesday: The Lost Saint

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine, and spotlights upcoming novels we just can't wait for!


So this week I am anxiously awaiting "The Lost Saint" by Bree Despain;




The Lost Saint
Bree Despain
December 2010

A family destroyed. A love threatened. An enemy returns.

Grace Divine made the ultimate sacrifice to cure Daniel Kalbi. She was infected with the werewolf curse while trying to save him, and lost her beloved brother in the process. When Grace receives a haunting phone call from Jude, she knows what she must do. She must become a Hound of Heaven.
Desperate to find Jude, Grace befriends Talbot—a newcomer to town who promises her that he can help her be a hero. But as the two grow closer, the wolf grows in Grace, and her relationship with Daniel is put in danger—in more ways than one.
Unaware of the dark path she is walking, Grace begins to give into the wolf inside of her—not realizing that an enemy has returned and a deadly trap is about to be sprung

------

Sounds good doesn't it? I loved the first book in the series; The Dark Divine. I have a thing for werewolves and I liked this bittersweet story of love, and redemption. There is a little bit of religion in this tale, but I feel that it doesn't mock anyones beliefs, if anything it is purely there to add layers to the character. I recommend the first book, and I know I am going to try to wait patiently for december!!


DON'T FORGET TO ENTER MY CONTEST! THE LINK IS AT THE TOP BELOW THE HEADER!

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Teaser Tuesday and Contest News!!

Ciao Bellas!!! I'm still in Italy mode it appears... I am back again, but this time the lack of internet has keep me away!! Unfortunately since I live in the boon, when we lose internet connection the internet decides it will take its sweet patonia time coming out and remedying this problem. Because I have had no connect with  my blog in a couple weeks of this I will be extending my contest deadline till AUGUST 31ST 2010!! I hope this doesn't upset anyone but I just haven't been able to do the PR, if you will, to get this contest well known and I want everyone to have a chance to enter!! So please send on the news :)


On to the next order of business, I just finished "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" and throughly enjoyed it! CAUTION it is not for the faint at heart!! But a great read and a page turner about a missing girl, a backward romance, and a turn of events that will leave you shocked! Highly recommend it as your next read!


Also, I can't forget my teaser tuesday which is featuring "Devil May Cry" by Sherrilyn Kenyon, book 10 I believe from the Dark Hunters series which I am addicted to lately!!


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should be Reading.


Here's how it works:- Grab the current book you're reading- Open up to a random page- share 2 "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page ***Make sure your section is spoiler free!


"You are my daughter"
"Sure I am" She scoffed. "I can't imagine you ever being uncoordinated"
"Oh, I assure you I've nailed quite a few signs with my forehead. It's a wonder
"Exit" isn't permanently imprinted right between my eyes" (pg 156).

Oh I loved that scene, very special if you have read any of the books. Ok guys hppy readings and I will blog again tomorrow!! Please enter my contest and spread the news all around!!!

Oh to leave you with a smile, the lack of blogging has left me rusty. What's wrong with this picture?




Thursday, July 22, 2010

Updates and News!

Hey guys, I really hate how I am abandoning my blogging responsibilities and my blogger friends!! I blame it on my internet which has been on the fritz for the last few days!! Anyways I am here, and am trying very hard to maintain my blogging responsibilities! Since I missed many daily meme's this week, I am going to include a picture below of just a few books I have bought lately, some are books I received on my birthday (I got the first 8 books in the "Dark Hunter" series, and I am in LOVE!)


I have bought more then this I'm sure, however I can't find them! EKKK. This post is more so just a reminder of MY CONTEST!! And to ask you guys to keep the news going around of it, as I am probably going to be unable to "advertise" with the status of my crummy internet right now. 

Happy Readings!! And much love from Canada !

Thursday, July 15, 2010

I'm Backkkk!!!!; Italy, birthday, CONTEST and more!!!





Hey guys!!! It has been a very lonely two months without my lovely blog and my followers!! I missed you all soo much!! As you may remember I said I would be back around the first of July, and while I did return from Italy at that time I couldn't find anytime to blog!! Things have been hectic lately!


On July 3rd I turned a horrible 21!!! Jeez, I know I can't really say I'm old but it feels weird being "in" my twenties!!!! I had a quiet birthday, also a sad one as I said goodbye to my sister for two years as she went to Australia for school, so I don't feel that sorry for her. 


Anyways I have decided that in leu of having amazing followers, and turning 21 AND returning from Italy I am going to have a CONTEST!!! YAY!! This contest will be international, and will end august 14. The winner will win a 20 dollar limit for a book on the book depository! Here are the rules;

Rules;

  1. You MUST be a follower! And yes I will check (blogs that are built specifically for contests will be eliminated and give a swift mental kick)
  2. You have to register before midnight on August 14th!
  3. You can win extra entries for different tasks
  4. You must fill out my form located here

Enjoy guys I love you all! And will be back to blogging with a vengeance !!  Here are some Italy Pics!




Coliseum 

Joking around at the Pantheon (my favorite building)

Walking to the beach in Via Equense
Playing around on ancient columns in Pompeii 

I got a little burnt on site...

Greek temple at Paestum

 
Signing on the bus after a long day snorkeling 
In Rome, this is the fountain from the movie "Angels and Demons"

Trying to jump in the air at the Coliseum 

Last day in Italy...

Snorkel team numero una

Lost my arm to an ancient root cavity on site

Hope you guys enjoyed the pics!! Enter the contest and happy readings!!


Monday, May 24, 2010

In the Land of Carbs

Hey guys!! I'm taking a short break from site seeing to bring you guys some more pictures and some chit-chat, hope I'm not being to boring and still have followers when I get back to Canada. Today I went to Sorrento, which was lovely, and then I went to a beach and took a bum load of pics. I also started reading Archangel's Kiss today, I read the first one on the plane and enjoyed it so I'm looking forward to it. Tomorrow were going to Pompeii and Hurculaneum to look at some ancient ruins. I'm going to end this post with some more pics. Hope you guys enjoy! 
Just chilling on top of a castle, no biggy. 
You can see Mt. Vesuvius in the background


beautiful Sorrento 

I love this town!

Hope you guys enjoyed the pictures! Happy reading!

Friday, May 21, 2010

I'm a live and in Italy!


Hey guys, sorry I haven't blogged, I have been adjusting to the time change and jet leg, but I am now in beautiful Italy!!

It's 12:30 here so I am tired and suffering from a bad migrane so I am going to quickly add some pics. I also finished Angel Blood on the plane and started Spirit Bound to and so far I am loving it just not so happy I will have to wait another year for the next one!!!


View from my window!! Love!

View from the front view of the institute

 
Smurf Gelato!! 

Thats all for now, internet access here is bad so I don't know if I will be posting all that often, heres hoping though!!

Ciao






Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Jackson Pearce Rocks!!


The Great Jackson Pearce that wrote "As you wish" and "Sister's red" has a bunch of funny videos on youtube and as I was creeping youtube I found her latest and laughed so hard. Heres a hilarious parody of Kesha's "tick tock". Enjoy!

Monday, May 17, 2010

Things That Inspire Me


Earlier today, as I sat in a local coffee shop sipping on my french vanilla, in a complete state of realization I was oddly inspired... this state of calm gave me a moment of clarification in a story I have been slowly working on. It was then that I realized that small coffee houses and simple pleasures like these stores, are one of the things that is my muse. In the spirit of my revealation, I decided this post would be dedicated to things that inspire me;


Smelly Books

I know I have talked ad nauseam about my fascination with book smells, but my favorite smell in the world is a great big, ripe, hardcover. Nothing beats the smell of an old library. I can't really explain why I am so transfixed with this, the only way I can explain it is that smells give my brain a physical reminder of a good book, making it more monumental in a sense because their is physical evidence of the written word. Does that make sense? I love smelly libraries for the same reason I love cememtries; the smell of the old books surrounding me makes me feel like I'm surrounded by other worlds and lifetimes, not that a cemetery has a smell (thank goodness) but it also makes me feel surrounded even though technically I am alone.



Coffee Shops

I'm victim to the movies and books that promote the idea that people that hang around expensive coffee and type on their laptops all day are those of the "creative" and "artsy" characteristics. When I think of coffee in big round cups, well I immediately think of old Friends episodes, but it mostly reminds me of people who are the essence of creativity and imagination. When I sit in one of these shops I always wish I had a laptop (so I can blend in) but also because I feel like I could write for hours among people who I imagine are doing the same thing on their laptops.



Antiques

I'm in the feild of antiques; old houses, old bones, old cultures, old religions, and old societies. Antique things have history, and if they could talk I bet their could entertain us for a lifetime. I like carrying an old ring, or a necklace passed down through the family, it helps to remind me where I'm from and all the experiences I have experienced not only through my own life but the experience I have gained from previous ancestors and the power of their stories. Old things make me want to write new things.



Pictures

I think the most important thing to remember when writing something is that you are an individual, you are your own person and because of this you have the means of greatness, no one wants to read the same book twice from two different authors. Pictures of things I love; my family, friends, places I will go to or have been to remind me that I have stories of my own that are completely different from what is already written. Someday I hope someone will tell me my stories are amazing because theres nothing else like them. What's a better compliment.




Music!!!

One thing my purse always has in it; a good book, and my Ipod! Music is creativity juice for the brain! Music is like a book, it has its own genre and to each's own. I like some popular music for when I am feeling in a more energetic mood and want some pop to rock out to, by my favorite genre is indie and rock/pop. Music soothes me an reminds me that these artists achieved their dreams and that means I can too!

A recent favorite is Jon Mclaughlin, he's voice and piano playing makes me swoon!



Sunday, May 16, 2010

Related Posts with Thumbnails