Monday, October 1, 2012

Whimsical Lands and Books

Lately I would describe myself as a bit of a dreamer. I live in a day-to-day land where I "endure" life simply in the far off notion that one day I will be out of the fog that is being a sick person, AKA Sarah the Cancer patient. Life for me right now it wake up at noon, maybe eat something high in fat such as bacon, read a little bit, walk around, terrorize my dog, and then very late that night take some sleeping pills and try to shut my head off. Wake up, rinse and repeat.

One of my favourite past times as of late is browsing the pinterest boards. I like to pretend I'm one of those people that can pull of head-to-toe tattoos and then go crazy pinning quotes I want all over my body; such as "you don't know how strong you are until being strong is the only choice you have". I think if I were ever able to go through with this my mom would sub come to an early death. One of the things that always makes me more creative and seems to spurn on these random blog posts, are visits to Starbucks. Coffee tastes a bit different for me now with chemo in my body, but I think it's the atmosphere itself that keeps me coming back. The atmosphere here always stirs my creative juices, it makes me feel more urban than I probably am. Like I could pull off a thick sweater, five dollar chunky wedges and a floppy hat.




In the book world, I have been reading The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I have always loved Maggie's writing; it's not bogged down by over drawn details. They are usually beautifully written books that have a very romantic and old feeling to them. The Raven Boys is not exception to this equation of excellence, I just find that it is running a little slower than I like. I'm a little confused by some of the characters, and oddly lost as to who is suppose to be the main couple?! I know Blue is the girl, because she's ugh the only one, but there is at least two main boys that seem to be vying for her attention. It's confusing.

I also picked up Obsidian in the Lux series and am excited to start this series even though it's not very popular in the YA community I've heard some good things about it.

I'll leave you all with a personal picture, happy readings! Also if you  like the pictures you should check out my sisters website, she's an amazing photographer!

Sunday, September 23, 2012

In My Mailbox/ What I'm Reading/ Weekly Favs

Hello fellow readers. It's sunday and you know what that means, In My Mailbox! Oddly I haven't bought any books this week, so instead of not posting I decided that I would blog about the books I am reading and some of this weeks favorites.

I'm still reading Shadows, by Ilsa Bick. I'm reading slow because I'm sadly a little disappointed with this book. Not because it's not amazing but because I'm so frustrated with the author! I feel like Ms. Bick (not going to assume she is or isn't married), could have gone AMAZING with this book, but places I feel she could have gone right she went left. I will do a review on the book, and the first one because I think they are still worth the read.

This week I'm also reading Crazy Sexy Diet, by Kris Carr. Kris is a cancer survivor and author of one of my fav books: Crazy Sexy Cancer. This book is all about diet and vegan living, and it makes me want to take charge of what I eat, sadly I love Starbucks to much to change I fear, but time will tell.

This week in general is a favorite because it was a no chemo week. This upcoming tuesday I have chemo again, but I had the week off which is always a plus to be feeling able to move around and read.

I also have a Pinterest favorite this week, Pinterest is a guilty pleasure and a time consumer for me. If any of you are a fan of BroTips on twitter, than you should like this BabeTip. I find it personally relevant, and I'm sure will resonate with you all as well as we all have our battles.



This weeks books. Sorry they are backwards. Macbook. 


Inspiring. 

Happy readings to you all!

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Update and Explanation on the Absence


Hello all! I thought I would give you all a quick update. As many of my faithful followers will notice, I have been "away" from the blog for quite awhile, with random and infrequent updates. I was originally not going to mention on the blog the reason for the absence but I recently checked my blog email and noticed that I have missed quite a few emails and without wanting to appear unprofessional or rude I decided to share the reason. I don't know if anyone will even see this anymore but 6 months ago, April 23rd to be exactly I was diagnosed with stage 4 Hodgkins Lymphoma, a type of Cancer that affects one's immune system. I have been sick for over 2 years and was just recently diagnosed properly. I have been in chemo for the last 5 months and had chemo extended and additional two months. I don't plan on talking much about this on the blog because I want this to be the one thing in my life not affected by my cancer. If you would like to know more about this I do "tweet" quite often about it. My personal twitter is "sVioletp". I am trying to blog more often now, I know I have probably lost most of my readers but I will continue to review when I feel able to do so. Love you all.



How I feel about cancer



Biopsy scar and pre chemo hair cut




Saturday, September 15, 2012

In My Mailbox: September 15th 2012

Hello all my lovely fellow book nerds! I know this is a day early, but I thought since it was on my mind I should post my "In My Mailbox". I only bought one book this week, but I thought I would also include my new DVD purchase my mom bought me this week whilst I lounge about in bed.

Shadows by Ilsa Bick (So excited for this one, 
managed to find it early in stores)

Once Upon A Time, good show to remind you of childhood!

Also this picture is a week fav I found on pinterest, I'm a bit of a dreamer so naturally I love this whimsical picture

What have you guys been loving this week?


Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Update: Archaeology, books and yada yada...

Hello fellow book lovers, I hope everyone is reading lots of good books and is keeping cool in these dog days of summer. Recently, I have been spending a lot of time aimlessly put-ting around my house very bored but lacking the desire to pick up a new book. For the last couple of weeks I have been staring at my copy of Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver but am unable to start reading it. The ending of the last book left such a biter taste in my mouth that the process of reading this book seems daunting and unfulfilling.I started to read a few pages of the book when I first picked it up but after getting a couple chapters in I realized that, SPOILER, Lena was starting to fall for another boy that was not her boyfriend Alex who in the end of the first book we were made to believe had died. I have heard from a few other readers that the sequel, despite my apprehensions, is very good. Have any of you read it?

Amongst my laziness in these last few days, I rediscovered my little archaeology blog that I created for a class this last semester at University. It is unlike this blog in that it focuses on my love for ancient history and all things old, but I did manage to blog about some very interesting finds. The picture below shows a snapshot of my post on a skeleton found of a couple who were buried holding hands. Aw.  This link if you would like to check out this blog is: http://manymindlessmusings.tumblr.com/


I am currently watching the movie Priest, I recommend it. It is a very interesting take on Vampires. If any of you have recommendation on some good movies, and I am all ears. Speaking of vampires I will leave you all with this fun little picture to ponder. 







Sunday, June 17, 2012

Happy fathers day!

Hey all follow book lovers! Just sending a warm happy fathers day to everyone celebrating today or not. I am spending the day with my father outside in the warm canadian weather. I'm currently sitting in a lawn chair with Blood Lines in my hands.


Happy readings everyone!

Sunday, March 4, 2012

IMM March 4th 2012

Hey guys heres my weekly IMM hope you enjoy! What did you buy this week?


All these things I've done- Gabrielle Zevin
Witchling- Yasmine Galenorn 
The Knife of Never Letting Go- Patrick Ness
The Scorch Trials- James Dashner

Friday, February 3, 2012

Hunger Games New trailer

        As many of you know, The Hunger Games is my favourite series of books! I have ranted and raved about these books since the beginning. The very first day the book came out I bought it, and read it within the day. Every since that fated book I waited anxiously for the next year until the next one, and again until the third and finial book. Since I found out that the books were being made into a movie I was skeptical that they wouldn't do them justice, but when I look at this trailer I feel like this movie might actually be comparable to the books.
        The new trailer came out yesterday, I can't wait for this movie!


Thursday, February 2, 2012

Mutual Feelings: Love and Reading

       The other day I had an epiphany of sorts. I was sitting at home, having just finished a really great book and was feeling kinda down, the depression hit a little when I realized that I would never have that great feeling of reading that book for the first time again and be completely engrossed at what would happen.
        Being a 22 year old female, I have had my fair share of heartbreak and dating experiences. I've learned that the feeling of one's heart breaking is a indescribable feeling that you can only understand if you too have gone through it. Anyways, it was during this day, having just finished this great book, that I realized something: the feeling of finishing a great book is comparable to the feeling of losing someone you care about or the feeling of suffering from a broken heart.
      I suppose in retro-spect it makes sense, the experience of reading a book is so personal and hits everyone differently: we all picture the novel in our head and through each page we slowly fall in love with the characters, the setting, and the writing.
       I remember the first time I finished the Hunger Games I was like a lost puppy, life had no meaning without Peeta and Katnis regularly in my life! I began to live vicariously through them and their romance in the novel and also they're lives in general. Similarly to falling out of love with someone, I would also dream of these newly finished books in my dreams, they occupied my daydreams and we're my favourite things to think about aimlessly.
     This is the great things about books though, unlike an ex, I aways have my books to turn back to when the other has put me through the ringer. Boys just don't stick around like my Peeta does!



Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Shoot Out and Personal Twitter

Hey guys! As I sit here procrastinating on latin studying, and I thought "Jeez, why don't I blog"! So thats what I'm doing I suppose... I have another blog that I had to write for my archaeological ethics class and I will add the link incase any of you guys want to see it. (http://manymindlessmusings.tumblr.com/)

On another note, I also have my personal twitter incase anyone would like to add me, warning: I tweet a lot of nonsense and tend to over share, follow at your own risk! My user name is @sVioletp

Just a taste of some of the pictures I tweet;



Waiting on Wednesday: Insurgent


Insurgent (Divergent #2)
 
Who: Veronica Roth

When: Too Long (March 1st 2012)




Why:
            This following summer I was in a reading rut, nothing I put in my hands was interesting enough to keep me intrigued enough to get passed the 80th page. The reason I am so excited to finally read Insurgent is mostly because; Divergent was the book that got me out of this rut!  I loved Divergent, dystopian novels have always been my favorite genre. YA dystopias usually have a strong female lead and Divergent is no different.  Can’t wait for this one! 

Sunday, January 1, 2012

New Year Resolutions and all that Jazz

My name is Sarah, and it has been almost a year since I made my last blog post. But this will all change now that it is 2012!

Aside from the typical; loss weight, get straight A's, fall in love, resolutions made very year I am going to try to no longer abandon my beloved blog, whom I miss very very much. I am currently reading Beauty and the Werewolf, which will make for an interesting review so expect to see it soon.

Thank's guys, I'll be seeing you soon :)

Related Posts with Thumbnails