Friday, April 23, 2010

I feel like I'm a broken record...

Once again my lack of blogging is due to, what else.... EXAMS!! I have one tonight, and two next week, then I'm done!!


Also, on a side note my friend Melissa has me guest "starring" on her Friday Fix meme. Go check it out here! I just love her blog! Thanks Melissa :)

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday; Alpha


Alpha (Shifters, #6)
Author--> Rachel Vincent

Release Date--> October 2010
Product Description from Goodreads
YOU'VE GOT TO HAVE FAYTHE...

The unscrupulous new Council chair has charged Jace, Marc, and me with trespassing, kidnapping, murder, and treason. Yeah, we've been busy. But now it's time to take justice into our own hands. We must avenge my brother's death and carve out the rot at the heart of the Council.

It's not going to be easy, and loss seems unavoidable, but I have promised to protect my Pride, no matter what. With a target on my back and Marc at my side, I'm heading for a final showdown that can--that will--change everything forever. A showdown I'm not sure I'm ready for.
But life never waits until you're ready.
Why I can’t wait;

I CAN NOT WAIT FOR THIS ONE!!! I had heard about the buzz about the shifter series, but it reminded me to much of Kelley Armstrong's "Women of the Otherworld" series. Sarah you were wrong. It's hard to have truly original supernatural reads anymore, however the Shifter series is in a class of its own. Some aspects of the book are a little more boring then others, but I LOVE the love triangle that has slowly accumulated in these books.I'm all for the underdog! TEAM JACE!!!

 This is the last book in the series, I can't wait to see who she chooses, and the way the characters find their own peace. 

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Teaser Tuesday; Angels Blood

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should be Reading.


Here's how it works:- Grab the current book you're reading- Open up to a random page- share 2 "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page ***Make sure your section is spoiler free!



And since right now I am currently reading for my exams and books related to them, and I don't want to bore you all, I am going to do a teaser from the next book I plan on reading when exams are done; Angels Blood, by Nalini Singh



"sensing that line of questioning would get her nowhere, she changed gears. 
'Thats your plan- to go out and find an easy lay?'
'You're the morality police now?' (Singh, 104)

I guess this quote isn't exactly PG, but it made me laugh so I decided to put it up anyways.Anyone read this book? I'm excited to start it, I also bought "Archangels Kiss" the second book in the series. I've heard good things about them. 

Monday, April 19, 2010

Things that make me happy

This is a random post, but I love it when bloggers post pictures of things that inspire them, so I decided to jump on the bandwagon. 
Starbucks, I'm a junkie

Chapters. This ones in Toronto, and reinvented from an old theatre. Lovely

Old fashioned libraries, this one reminds me of the one from "Buffy"

Train Rides

Wasaga Beach, usually little busier than this...

Blogging; hehe...

Lazy days of summer

A good movie


What makes you happy?

IMM April 19th

IMM is a weekly meme started by Kristi @ The Story Siren


Bought;
Angels' blood- Nalni Singh
Archangels Kiss- Nalni Singh
The Golden Ass- Apuleius (School book, surprised how much I enjoyed this one)

I also bought a butt load of books on amazon, and was contacted by a few authors last week to review books so those will also be coming in the future.

What's in you mailbox?

Sunday, April 18, 2010

A Weekend in the Falls!

Sorry for the lack of blogging the last couple of days. I was in Niagara Falls, Ontario, with my family, as sort of a last hurray for my family (my dad got a promotion of sorts and is leaving the province next week for 2 years). I'm sure I will go visit him, but it's still a big change and my parents treated me and my sister to a little get-away, we even had a spa weekend!!!


On friday, after my exam from 7pm-10pm, it was hell reincarnated, we headed to the Hilton in Niagara. Our room was amazing! And it had the most incredible view!


 On saturday, my dad left for the day when me and my sister and my mom went to the spa; we got massages, and pedi's!! We had a nice breakfast at IHOP'S and then went to a Coach outlet mall, this was a bad idea for my bank account. Later that day I booked my plane ticket to Italy!!! Wahoo leave May 19th!! That night we had a nice dinner at East Side Marios, me and my sister walked over to the Casino to "look around". There's a bit of a story here, in Canada when your 19 you can enter Casino's, well I am turning 21 in July and feel firmly against Casino's and really wanted to say on my death bed that I had never been in a Casino or gambled for that matter, I think its a awful addiction, no ones happy in there and there's very few people who actually make a profit. However my sister broke me down, claiming that its "interesting" to see the different reactions and interactions between people in there; we saw one guy that looked like he hadn't moved from his slot machine in hours, tons of empty cups and his eyes were virtually closing. Sad sight. 


This morning, we woke up early, had breakfast and said goodbye to my dad, and now I'm procrastinating studying. 
It was a fun weekend! I even bought a lot of books online, and some in stores (IMM will be up tomorrow). 


Pedicure!
The Bathroom had a window into the master suite hmm....
THE view

sister, dad (he'd kill me if we saw this online, he doesn't "do" pictures, he made a nice double chin here, he's not overweight like he looks like it here haha), and me


My daddy, and Mehgan(sister)



we look like dufus's, Mommy and Me

Thursday, April 15, 2010

About Me

Quick update, I just added the "pages" tab to my blog (top left corner under the header), so far I only have "home" and "About me", more to be added in time. I've added to the "About Me" section, I put up some pics and some tid bits about yours truly. Enjoy!

What's with the Name?

Have you guys ever wondered why "Book reviews from inside an Igloo"? Well I've decided that some people may not know this "inside joke" we Canadians are accustomed to. 


I remember a couple years ago, a friend of mine moved to the United States. When she came back, she told us how her classmates would ask her why our president was so colorful on our money, and if we used sleigh dogs to get to our Igloos? Well first of all, we don't have Presidents; we have Prime Ministers, and secondly I don't know anyone that lives in an Igloo. Maybe some natives in Alaska, but hey thats an American state. 
    
It constantly surprises me that so many people think Canada is this cold and isolated place. Its actually quite warm here. Today, its sunny and I am currently in a tank top and tights. Our summers even get warmer then most states in the US, but yes our winters are cold. And FYI (for your info), the beaver is not our mascot. Do any countries even have mascots? Come on this isn't high school. 

Having all this is mind, when I finally decided to man up and start my blog I knew I wanted to incorporate my personal essence, and the fact that I love books and that this was going to be a book blog into the title. It took me a long time, but eventually I settled upon this name. 
    
Why such the random post Sarah? Well I'll tell you why, jeez louse settle down people... The other day while I was at a meeting for my Italy trip (just ONE more month!!), they handed out booklets on traveling to another country and what to expect, and the joys of "culture shock". For those of you who don't know what culture shock is, I had no idea, it is when you experience a "shock" of new cultures and customs when you travel to a new country. In this handy little book I found this one page that made me laugh out loud in my meeting, it was embarrassing let me tell you;



See I knew I wasn't the only one who knew about this?! Did you guess understand my blog name before this? What are some "culture perceives" you deal with in your country?

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday: Sea

Before I begin my "waiting wednesday" I have been thinking about doing more "adult" book reviews, as that seems to be all I am reading lately. I LOVE PNR books (Paranormal Romance). I know my title days I do YA reviews, but I know a lot of you readers, read more than just YA right? What do you guys think? Would you read reviews on more adult books? 

---------
SeaHeidi.jpg image by Gilmore-Gal
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Author; Heidi R. Kling

Release Date; June 10th 2010

Product Description from Goodreads
Haunted by recurring nightmares since her mother’s disappearance over the Indian ocean three years before, fifteen-year old California girl Sienna Jones reluctantly travels with her psychiatrist father’s volunteer team to six-months post-tsunami Indonesia where she meets the scarred and soulful orphaned boy, Deni, who is more like Sea than anyone she has ever met.

She knows they can’t be together, so why can’t she stay away from him? And what about her old best friend-turned-suddenly-hot Spider who may or may not be waiting for her back home? And why won’t her dad tell her the truth about her mother’s plane crash? The farther she gets from home, the closer she comes to finding answers.

And Sea’s real adventure begins.


Why I can’t wait;
            There has been quite the buzz on Twiter about this book. I hadn’t realized it had yet to be release the way people were talking about this one, I was quite shocked it had such a reputation months before its release! Definitely got my attention.
            I like that the premise of this book is very originally. Although it seems the plot is quite hush hush, the author doesn’t really reveal much in the summery which makes me think theres a bit of a shocker. I love the cover, it makes me think of mermaids, and Ariel, and seashell earrings.  I am intrigued. Sounds like a good read.

            What are you guys waiting for?

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

teaser Tuesday; The Sea of Monsters

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should be Reading.


Here's how it works:- Grab the current book you're reading- Open up to a random page- share 2 "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page ***Make sure your section is spoiler free!




"Shes touching me, George complained as he and Martha slithered around the pole
"She's always touching you: Hermes said. "your intertwined. And if you don't stop
that, you"ll get knotted again!" (Riordan, 103).

Ahh I can't wait ti start this one! This series is sooo fun!! What are you guys reading?

Monday, April 12, 2010

I'm back!!! And Cover News; Crescendo

Hey guys! Thanks for being so understanding with my lack of blogging, school has been kicking my butt lately!! But I'm back now and in full force!! so expect blogs this week!


some exciting news when I was away; I received a couple ARC's from netgalley including "The Iron Daughter" *GASPS!* which is so exciting that I don't have to wait till august (expect a review closer to the release date), I was also approached by an author last week asking me to review his ARC which is also very exciting and I'll give more info on that later, there was also some exciting cover news last week. I'm sure everyone has seen this already but heres the cover for the sequel to Hush Hush, Crescendo; 
Crescendo (Hush, Hush, #2)

 I like it, I liked "Hush Hush" cover much better, but this one is still beautiful with the feather and the rain and thunderstorm. I look forward to this read! I enjoyed the first book, some parts were a little iffy but still an enjoyable read. 

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

A little Sabbatical..

Due to homework and the mass amount of essays I have due to this week, I will be taking a short break from blogging and will return on sunday/monday. This saddens me because blogging is always a much needed escape from life, but you gotta do what you gotta do right?


See you all on the flip side!

Monday, April 5, 2010

Lack of blogging!

Sorry guys for my disappearance, I swear I am still alive! Easter weekend was busy, I got to see my family and be home for the weekend and that was great, but didn't leave a lot of time for blogging. 


I will be posting my IMM and teaser tuesday tomorrow, little late but it will still be there :)

Thursday, April 1, 2010

A Pinch and A Punch for the Books of the Month (APRIL) & CONTEST WINNERS!!!




This is a meme I started last month, and it will be posted at the first of every month. 


So heres how its going to work, the first day of the month, post a list of the books you are most excited for in the new month (it doesn't have to be just books! It can be anything book related!)

My list is in no way an extensive one for all the great new reads coming up in March, these are just a list of the books I am MOST excited for! For more extensive lists go check out the new reads lists from these great bloggers, The Story Siren, and Princesses Bookie. They both rock!

So without further ado, here are my books of the month!;
#4- Lies, Michael Grant (Gone #3)
#6- Strange Fate, L.G Smith ( Nightworld #10) CANNOT WAIT FOR THIS ONE
#5- Swoon At Own Risk by Sydney Salter 
#6- Will Grayson Will Grayson, John Green 
#13- Tales of the Otherworld, Kelley Armstrong (not YA)
#27- Burned House Of Night, PC Cast
#27- The Reckoning, Kelley Armstrong 
#27- Lover Mine, J R Ward (not YA)

This month is going to be sooo good!! To bad all my exams are this month :(

What are you guys most excited for?

----
NOW for the big news!! My contest is officially over!!! And since you guys rock and I have over a 100 followers ( I gained 80 + followers in THREE WEEKS) there are two winners!!! 

And the winners are.....

--

----

-----

--------





AND




Congrats to the winners!!! Thanks so much you all !!! You guys have 48 hours to respond to my email and then I'll pick a different winner!

Related Posts with Thumbnails